Truth About Her

Author(s): Jacqueline Maley

Fiction

How can you write other people's stories, when you won't admit the truth of your own? An absorbing, moving, ruefully tender, witty and wise novel of marriage, motherhood and the paths we navigate through both, for fans of Ann Patchett and Anne Tyler. Journalist and single mother Suzy Hamilton gets a phone call one summer morning, and finds out that the subject of one of her investigative exposes, 25-year-old wellness blogger Tracey Doran, has killed herself overnight. Suzy is horrified by this news but copes in the only way she knows how - through work, mothering, and carrying on with her ill-advised, tandem affairs.The consequences of her actions catch up with Suzy over the course of a sticky Sydney summer. She starts receiving anonymous vindictive letters and is pursued by Tracey's mother wanting her, as a kind of rough justice, to tell Tracey's story, but this time, the right way. A tender, absorbing, intelligent and moving exploration of guilt, shame, female anger, and, in particular, mothering, with all its trouble and treasure, The Truth About Her is mostly though a story about the nature of stories - who owns them, who gets to tell them, and why we need them. An entirely striking, stylish and contemporary novel, from a talented new writer.  

$32.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0
On Order:
8


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

 


 

 

 

 

 

General Fields

  • : 9781460759165
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Australia
  • : 4th Estate - AU
  • : 0.445
  • : March 2021
  • : 2.8 Centimeters X 15.7 Centimeters X 23.6 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jacqueline Maley
  • : Paperback
  • : 368